All those who wander aren’t lost

At last I opened my eyes.It was dark.I decided against making any
further efforts to sleep.It was futile.Sleep had eluded me without notice this night.I admitted it.

I searched for the light switch in darkness and toppled the water bottle.It fell with a thud on the floor and made a rolling sound.I found the switch.When light flooded the room, I saw the bottle.It had sulkily gone to a corner.I didn’t make any endeavor to pick it.

I must do something.I looked around for some inspiration- ‘What could
be done to kill time at 3 AM in the morning?’ I turned my head towards
left,then right,then up,then down,then again left and again right.My
neck ached.

I took up a pen.”May be I should write something.”I recalled Bram
Stoker who wrote parts of ‘Dracula’ while sitting on the beach.I wasn’t on
a beach but the ardent ceiling fan whizzed down beach like gale.I tore
out a page and flattened it face up.It was blank.Blank paper is such
an inspiration!It attracts attention.It has something mysterious about
it.Very inviting sort of.One gets pulled towards it! It makes a silent declaration- ‘Don’t worry,I am harmless’

I pinned down the harmless paper with a cellphone to save it from the
assault of ceiling fan.(ceiling fan must learn to behave.) Now I was
ready. I creased my eyebrows and made a thoughtful expression,like a
serious writer.And I started thinking too.

I saw in my mind a unicorn reading a book.Then I saw a Dracula
walking on beach-then polar bears sleeping peacefully in snow-people rowing boats in a city.Then I tried to recall what the inhabitants of Antarctica were called.

I looked down at the paper, it looked back at me – expectantly.I
shrugged and looked around- for more inspiration. The bottle had
quietly fell asleep at the corner.’Huh’ I sighed and put back the cap on the pen.

I laid back down on bed and stretched myself.Some joints cracked.

Something like a pebble fell on the stack of newspapers.I sat up
intrigued.I looked towards the stack of newspapers lying at some
distance. A black pebble like winged insect which makes  buzzzzzzzz
sound had crash landed.It was agitated.It moved around a bold
newspaper headline in panic.There was a picture of a man with long beard.He was wearing spectacles.The headline read-“All those who wander aren’t lost”

I laid back and stretched again.The stoic fan swirled unconcernedly.The buzzz insect was silent.After some time,it started buzzing again.It rose up and flew out through the window.

‘Good idea!’,I mused,’Let me write a new post for my blog.’

writing

One thought on “All those who wander aren’t lost

Leave a Reply

