3 Day Quote Challenge II, Day 2

On this 2nd day of the 3 day quote challenge, I feel fortunate to note that on this date 15th April , far back in the year of 1452  one of the greatest artists we have known, was born.

Leornado Da Vinci, when I had first heard this name, I only remember him being referred to as one of the greatest genius of all time. I was curious to know more, and what I discovered next was the remark- he painted the most famous painting in history- The Mona Lisa.

This guy seemed to have done everything that included the words ‘greatest’ and ‘in all of history.’ I recall examining his sketches about some flying machine, published in a magazine.It had thrilled me, because I had never known an artist with such inclination towards scientific inventions too.

I remember watching a documentary about him which depicted how strange a person he was.He would often disappear for days, then come back with new ideas- nobody could decipher where he would suddenly get ideas from.Some claimed he had contact with extraterrestrial beings. That just made his personality even more outlandish.

The peak of my fascination with him was reached upon reading Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code. I believe most of us would have got enraptured with his mysticism after reading that absorbing fiction.Mysteries hidden in paintings! Secret paths, Secret societies! Whew!

I always regarded Da Vinci with awe because of his versatility.(He is even said to be able to write and paint simultaneously with both his hands)  I invariably held that we should learn from  him, that the pursuit of knowledge doesn’t need to be restricted  to one domain.At the end every knowledge will culminate to help us understand a greater truth.

Like, Da Vinci learnt about so many things- his interests included such myriad of fields as  invention, painting, sculpting, architecture, science, music, mathematics, engineering, literature, anatomy, geology, astronomy, botany, writing, history, and cartography.Ultimately all these understandings would have influenced his mind to become a better artist.Who knows he might have used a principle from music theory for the selection of colors for his painting! When you know so much, you can just play with theories and create magnificent things!

***

 I wanted to pay tribute to this great artist today,so I made these posters using the pictures of some of his famous paintings along with his timeless quotes.

(You may notice a ‘G’ logo in each poster. That is the logo of the Creative Club of our university.The club is called ‘GrayScale’.I had to post these pics there too so I have kept the logo in each of them.)

12345

***

I am grateful to Spiritual Journey for kindly nominating me for this challenge! At her blog she has an archive of prolific quotes, motivational stories and compelling spiritual thoughts that will surely impart you with profound perspectives about life! Do visit her blog!

Furthermore, I am grateful to Ebby for also nominating me for this challenge! Ebby is a wonderful conversationalist and she writes about social issues she feels deeply about! A charming and lively personality who writes lucidly, you would surely like reading through her blog.

Thank you very much!

9 thoughts on “3 Day Quote Challenge II, Day 2

  1. I too love this post and to whom it’s dedicated to. Im currently reading Dan Browns Da Vincent code , and well this guy was pretty much awesome. Thanks for this post , I can’t wait to finish the book now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yo! Wonderful to know that Zwesto! Im thrilled to know you are reading it! I like recalling the scenes from the eyes of a first time reader – it gets me excited! 🙂 Enjoy the suspense!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Da Vinci was a genius! As you know there was talk about The Last Supper painting that there was a woman painted in the picture next to Jesus (Mary Magdalene) and later in years she was removed from the painting. I was looking under the table to see if they remembered to remove her feet too!! 😉 You do such a fabulous job with all the information you add to your posts. It makes them a pleasure to read and I learn new things, I love that! Tremendous work! Wonderful pictures and quotes!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

