Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner: The Travelling Library

As I was rummaging through my old trunk filled with books, I was thrilled to see some classics lying there, unattended since quite a long time.I have to relocate so I have been going through all those closed boxes,trunks and bookshelf, where dust and insects have seemingly constructed a housing colony of their own.

Few of the books I noticed had got weak and fragile.I feared their pages might start falling off if mishandled even a bit.I decided to get them hard bound at the book binding shop.

In the evening,as I carried the satchel of old books with me, happy that they will look robust after the binding was done,I was interrupted by a friend who asked me where was I headed to.
“To the book binding shop, ” I said with delight.
“But there is no binding shop, aren’t you aware?”
“What ! There was one besides that electronics repairing store, a young man used to run the shop, I remember”
“It’s been years he closed down, must not be getting any business probably”
“Really” I was surprised “No book binding shop nearby?”
“None I know, nobody needs it anymore I guess”
***
This episode unfolded yesterday evening and I had been thinking about it since morning. True, I myself now read most of the books on Kindle and search more fervently on Google rather than my thick encyclopedias. Perhaps we are living in the phase of transition.Our very next generation may view paper books with curiosity; and wonder how could we be comfortable with that, much like us, who would gape at the big floppy disks, 1.44 MB memory size, our fathers used to work with!
***
Mandi wrote this beautiful story as a part of the challenge “Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner, ” which she is avidly pursuing! The story struck a chord with me as she narrated this curious tale of future generation teens who accidentally find a library and start speculating as to what sort of thing it is! I couldn’t help but smile thinking this is exactly what had been going on in my mind.I invite you to read this nice story by her, titled “The Travelling Library”.I really liked it and I am sure you too will appreciate the essence of the changing times, this story captures.

Mandibelle16

Thanks to Roger Shippfor hosting FFftPP. Today’s sentence to be included is: “Thoseare the directions…”

——

http://www.pixebay.com

——

“These rocks are cool,” Tanya sad climbing on top a stack of rocks. “I wonder how and why they are formed like this?”

Tanya’s friend Crystal chimed in, ” Yeah, I wonder too. But we’re in the middle of nowhere and have no phone reception so we can’t even Google the answer. I’m questioning why my friend Tyler told me we should takeparticulardirections to see these rocks.”

Suddenly, before Tanya and Crystal’s eyes a building appeared. It was all glass but the inside was filled with millions of books and scrolls.

Crystal tried to pronounce the word on the front of the building. “It’s a library,” Tanya said. “It’s where people used to research before Google and the Internet. I’ve never seen a library. I remember…

View original post 101 more words

6 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner: The Travelling Library

  1. Wow, thank you so much for sharing my flash fiction piece. That was so kind of you! I love your beginning statement. I agree with you it’s very true how we look for books on our kindle or whatever device who choose to read. Sometimes I think this is good because all those paper backs of books we are only reading to escape and never pick up again, clutter the house. On another level, I miss having a copy of my well worn favourite literary works and being able to write in the book Abe make notes etc.. Thank you again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thankyou so much Mandi for acknowledging my personal view which I couldn’t resist to add after reading your flash fiction! And so true, with Kindle we have so many books at the tip of our fingers.May be with time we will get accustomed to liking digital books and prefer to keep just few paperbacks for memory! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love a mix of the old and the new. Actually, I’ll be honest, I much prefer paper books.

    With how intently I read when I find a good story, the unnatural light of a screen tends to give me a headache. And there’s something about the smell and feel of printed paper, too.

    There’s a few books on my bookcase that I seem to read once every eighteen months. I’m getting itchy to pick up one of those books again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • true…the sound of turning each page and the curiosity that a paper book evokes within one’s mind is incomparable to ebooks…however ebooks r doing their part by reducing the slaughter of more trees…and thus its worth giving up the joy of reading paper books for an environmental cause.

      Like

      • I hear you on the argument about the environment. As a society, we are too wasteful of our natural resources and then lament what we have lost when it is all too late.

        We can buy recycled paper to use, for example, as well as demanding the use of sustainable forests. Care in how we use paper can prevent the permanent loss of woodland.

        There is an environmental cost to everything, such as the polluting by-products from the power stations producing the electricity to power your ebook device. The energy efficiency of our electrical devices is also a concern that we must have. I’m quite pedantic about turning off lights and not leaving countless devices on standby power.

        Most of my books are second hand and eReaders can give me a migraine. That also explains my mix above the joy of sitting in the corner quietly sharing a book only with myself.

        Having said all of that, I’m totally with you in that we need to look after the resources of our world.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

