Fishes In The Tank

Boundaries of glass

What do the fishes see

Through transparent walls?

 

People pacing in front with phone

And iCards dangling

As they roam.

 

Cubes and squares white

Where heads peep with

Stealthy sights!

 

The fishes unbothered they swim

In their tiny world

With little whim.

 

Ambling up and down then around

Daintily moving the fins

Making no sound.

 

Creatures of Ocean the Kingdom vast

Do they miss the place where

They livedΒ in theΒ  past?

(In the cubicle where I sit in my office, upon raising my head, I can see a fish tank at a distance.It lies beside a walkway where people walk to and fro, busily doing the office works.I wrote this poem in that moment of contemplation where I was getting bored and lost myself looking at those fishes.)

the-perfect-fish-tank-kerstin-peters

The Perfect Fish Tank, painting by Kerstin Peters

(Source: FineArtAmerica)

11 thoughts on “Fishes In The Tank

    • Haha Yes! A whole different world altogether, that’s why I like to meditate upon them to help me find a momentary escape from my own surrounding when it starts getting boring! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

