Reading Off to Sleep

I remember reading sometimes back, on Jacquline’s blog, a post in which she stated about ‘reading off to sleep’. The idea, in the very first instant had impressed upon me a distant reminiscence. In young days, I used to have Champak, a children’s magazine, under my pillow, which was meant to be the bedtime book.I would get to the bed a bit early, so as to have sufficient time to finish a story.

The story would generally have animals as the character. There would be a deer who lost his way in a storm and went to the wise owl to get suggestion as to how to get back to his home. There would be a rabbit, having his hut in the forest, living a simple life and a jackal would try to cheat him and acquire his land, but an elderly cow would assist the rabbit and teach the jackal a lesson.

Sometimes later my sister would gift me a story book, having short stories with morals attached to them. One story would teach me not to trust anyone quickly, the other would suggest me that happiness lies in small things and we should appreciate them.Every night would be a new lesson to learn.

Sometimes, I would sleep off before finishing the story, then try to recall how much I had read while walking to the school,the next morning. The story will be resumed at night again amidst the hum of mosquitoes, flying on the other side of the mosquito net.

There was a small shop in my town, the only shop which sold books for general reading.The old uncle who ran that shop had recognized me and would always show me books he brought from the city especially for me. He used to go to the nearby city to buy his stock of new books and magazines every Wednesday and Saturday. There would be new books on display in his small decrepit store, on Thursdays and Sundays. I began my reading journey from the books and magazines bought from his shop.

These days I am trying to get back to that old habit again. A lot of time has passed and I haven’t had a proper reading schedule as such. I keep reading at random hours and there is no fixed routine of reading while in bed at night.I have decided upon some books which will be exclusively reserved for bedtime reading. I think it will be a nice change and help me find an old connection with the bygone days.

valcha_b

(Image not owned by me. Image Source: thomaskinkade )

 

2 thoughts on “Reading Off to Sleep

  1. Growing up I always loved reading. And I ended every day with a story. Even as an adult I used to love reading before going to bed, although these days the reading has waned. Lovely nostalgic post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

