Word-High July: Kilig

First time on stage

assembly-clipart-school-assembly

Prepared had he all night
Anxious and stressed while
Trying to remember
One poetry, ‘The Knight’

The poem has he to recite
In the morning assembly of school
Afraid but is he of those
Cluster of eyes

The assembly prayers are sung but
His lips move in silence
Recalling the lines learnt
Fighting his gut

The prayers now will end just
Turn is his next
Sweaty palms, the knees weak
Feels he the chilled gust

-r prab

 

 

In response toΒ Word-High July: 30 Beautiful FilipinoΒ Words: Kilig

Kilig

 

banner-1

 

19 thoughts on “Word-High July: Kilig

  1. Smoothly done, Prabhat! I can picture him on stage. *Sigh*
    I’m sure most of us have been through this moment- one way or another. Those butterflies in the stomach, the sweaty palms, the shiver in our spines. Yep, I can remember mine so well. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, ya I think everyone of us had this moment! For Kilig, this is the only thing that came to my mind first! πŸ˜€ It was a short story that I had to narrate with a moral at the end. It was several years back. This word gave me a chance to remember that time. πŸ˜€ Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yikes! You have taken me back to a moment in time. How did you know? We’re you there? Ha Ha! Thanks for the great post. Brought back memories and I’m getting a little better at this! I hope….πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh! really? πŸ™‚ Ya it happened to me, so I remember it. I had to narrate a moral story about King Bruce who gets motivated to fight after seeing a spider trying again and again to build it’s web. I was so afraid I narrated it in one go almost like a robot, but it was good, as my brother later told me! ^_^

      Haha Yes you will get better I am sure! πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. This sounds so much like what many people talk about going through when they are preparing to speak. My wife went through it in high school. Once when I was a senior in high school, a friend and I were at church when the preacher called on me to pray aloud. My friend said he would have just died if he had been asked to pray aloud. I asked him, “Why? They are just people.”

    I have learned that the fear of public speaking is one of the number one fears. I understand that for many people it can be scary. Just remember, they can kill you but they can’t eat you. That’s illegal. That is a paraphrasal of.what Audy Murphy once said.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! Wonderful recollections you have shared! πŸ˜€ They can kill , but not eat! I am amused somebody said that! πŸ˜€ Thank you so much for sharing your memories!

      Like

Leave a Reply

