Word High July: Marahuyo

daffodilhill

When I think of ‘Marahuyo’- to be enchanted– I can only think of one thing; Nature! When I studied Science I realized Nature is the greatest scientist. When I studied Engineering, I realized, Nature is the greatest Engineer. When I studied Mathematics I realized Nature is the greatest Mathematician, and when I tried to learn art, I realized Nature is the greatest artist!

Who can escape the magnanimity, artistry, sophistication, charm, beauty, power, fierceness, and wisdom that Nature endows in Herself?

For today’s word, I want to dedicate the poem by William Wordsworth, one of the distinguished admirers of Nature, in which he tells about getting enchanted at the sight of the beautiful daffodils. In the last stanza, he says, ‘I kept on gazing mesmerized, thinking what benefit the view had brought to me’ Then he realizes that the remembrance of that vision brought him a feeling of bliss and happiness! Evidently, nothing enchants more than the marvels of Nature. Here is his poem, I Wandered Lonely As a Cloud

I wandered lonely as a Cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and Hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden Daffodils;
Beside the Lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

I gazed–and gazed–but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the Daffodils

 

(Source of above image:  LindaBeachStudio )

In response to Word-High July: 30 Beautiful Filipino Words: Marahuyo

july-16

banner-1

15 thoughts on “Word High July: Marahuyo

  1. Nature is the greatest mathematician … and the greatest artist. Well said, Prabhat, and beautifully, too. The Wordsworth poem will never cease to be a favourite of mine – as so many people’s – and we visit the lake District several times a year. Marahuyo is a lovely new word, with a delightful meaning.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

