Word High July: Kinaadman

When I had read Alexander Pope’s poem Ode on Solitude, for the first time, I was deeply touched. The poem not just conveyed the felicity of a solitary existence, it also reverberated with my idea of simplicity in life.I have, since, read it several times and often quote its lines in my writings and conversations.

I find this poem a lyrical piece of wisdom, that educates about a peaceful life, where one lives “..In health of body, peace of mind, Quiet by day, Sound sleep by night” It continues to be one of my close to the heart poems.I am glad to share it today for the word prompt Kinaadman– knowledge, wisdom.

Ode on Solitude

by Alexander Pope

Happy the man, whose wish and care
   A few paternal acres bound,
Content to breathe his native air,
                            In his own ground.
Whose herds with milk, whose fields with bread,
   Whose flocks supply him with attire,
Whose trees in summer yield him shade,
                            In winter fire.
Blest, who can unconcernedly find
   Hours, days, and years slide soft away,
In health of body, peace of mind,
                            Quiet by day,
Sound sleep by night; study and ease,
   Together mixed; sweet recreation;
And innocence, which most does please,
                            With meditation.
Thus let me live, unseen, unknown;
   Thus unlamented let me die;
Steal from the world, and not a stone
                            Tell where I lie.
a87d9948234c7d321bbd8491b3a2ddc7
(Image Source: media-cache)
.

In response to Word-High July: 30 Beautiful Filipino Words: Kinaadman

july-25

banner-1

22 thoughts on “Word High July: Kinaadman

    • Hey Mliae!!! Yeah I am doing fine.. Yes I have been missing the writing.. Recycled Book Challenge too.. a recent project has got me engrossed.I keep roaming around here but haven’t been able to put down my thoughts..I hope to change this situation soon.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ooohhh…engrossed, must be good one! I definitely want to hear more about this mystery project!! 🙂 I’ll be checking in, can’t wait to read the thoughts when you get them down! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        • Haha! thank you Mliae! It is an office project on digital revamp of company’s softwares.. Not very interesting 😛 I have started writing on my blog again.. This weekend I decided to redesign my routine so that I get time to write! I was missing being here quite a lot! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

